Kern Groundwater Authority

Governor Brown emphasized that “groundwater management in California is best accomplished locally.” Through the Sustainable Groundwater Management Program, DWR provides ongoing support to local agencies through guidance and financial and technical assistance.  SGMA empowers local agencies to form Groundwater Sustainability Agencies (GSAs) to manage basins sustainably and requires those GSAs to adopt Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs) for crucial groundwater basins in California.  On April 26, 2017 The Kern Groundwater Authority elected to become a GSA and was formed for the purpose of:

  1. Coordinating groundwater management programs and activities;
  2. Identifying and addressing issues pertaining to sustainable groundwater management; and
  3. Establishing a framework for local groundwater management.

The 16 participants in the KGA are:

    Arvin Community Services District

    Arvin-Edison Water Storage District

    Cawelo Water District

    City of Shafter

    Kern County Water Agency

    Kern-Tulare Water District

    Kern Water Bank Authority

    North Kern Water District

    Rosedale-Rio Bravo Water Storage District

    Semitropic Water Storage District

    Shafter-Wasco Irrigation District

    Southern San Joaquin Municipal Utility District

    Tejon-Castaic Water District

    West Kern Water District

    Westside District Water Authority

    Wheeler Ridge-Maricopa Water Storage District

Rosedale-Rio Bravo Water Storage District | Bakersfield, California | Phone 661-589-6045